United Nations: The Next Four Years

United Nations: The Next Four Years

(Temporary Residence, 7/15/14)

"Serious Business"

An enraged hardcore side project begun in 2005, United Nations has gone through significant lineup changes since its early inception. Contractual priorities forced the members who played on the first, self-titled album, to do so anonymously, save for singer and former Thursday front-man Geoff Rickly. But it’s widely accepted that Daryl Palumbo (Glassjaw, Head Automatica) and Ben Koller (Converge, Mutoid Man) were heavily involved in the 2008 debut.

Now, six years later, United Nations is back with an entirely different lineup of Jonah Bayer (Lovekill), Lukas Previn (Acid Tiger), and David Haik and Zac Sewell (Pianos Become the Teeth), still fronted by Rickly.

Potentially a shock to Thursday fans, The Next Four Years shows Rickly finding his inner screamer in a big way, singlehandedly reigniting the multi-generational screamo genre. The music is furious but keeps mostly to the minor-chord melancholy typical of the genre. Understand, though, that this is not your typical, cookie-cutter screamo record. United Nations puts so much power into every ounce of The Next Four Years that it’s easy to forget you’re listening to something with lyrical substance and musical acuity.