Coalesce Planning Tour, Seven-Inch for August

After spending the better part of the past six years broken up or as a quasi-functional touring unit, hardcore behemoths Coalesce appear to be returning to an operational status.

The group, which now consists of vocalist Sean Ingram, original guitarist Jes Steineger, bassist Nathan Ellis (The Casket Lottery), and “new” drummer Nathan Richardson (as it did for a few small shows in 2005), is in the stages of planning a bona fide tour for August and has a number of projects slated between now and then.

Besides putting the finishing touches on a seven-inch release titled Salt and Passage, which will include two new songs named “Son of Son of Man” and “I Am This,” Coalesce recently completed some new vocals for the repress of its Led Zeppelin cover disc, There is Nothing New Under the Sun, which was originally released as a CD compilation in 1999 and will again be issued by Hydra Head.

Salt and Passage will also include a book component, and the band is in the process of completing a separate DVD. Both projects should be available by the time Coalesce hits the road. Tour dates should be known in a few weeks.

Coalesce: “”

Photo credit: Jason Hellman