Members of Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Nels Cline Singers, Sleepytime Gorilla Museum score silent film

The San Francisco International Film Festival has made a tradition of assembling a live musical group each year to score a silent film. In the past, this has included artists like Stephen Merritt, Yo La Tengo, Deerhoof, and Black Francis. In 2013, the festival has put together an ensemble including Mike Patton (Faith No More), Scott Amendola (Nels Cline Singers), Matthias Bossi (Sleepytime Gorilla Museum), and William Winant (Mr. Bungle) to score the 1924 fantasy-horror classic Waxworks, directed by Paul Leni.

A German expressionist film involving a poet writing back stories for wax figures, Waxworks stars three of the most popular silent-era actors: Emil JanningsConrad Veidt, and Werner Krauss. Considering the film’s subject matter and the eclectic talents employed by the musical accompaniment, the May 7 showing is one not to be missed. Tickets are available for order now. Check out the full film below.