Marco Benevento’s New Album Covers Leonard Cohen, Led Zeppelin, Deerhoof

Jam keyboardist Marco Benevento (Benevento/Russo Duo) is releasing another solo album on February 3, only this time, covers outnumber original material. Benevento’s solo debut, Invisible Baby, was a passionate release from his post-jazz trio, but it certainly didn’t include any renditions of Deerhoof songs.

Below is the tracklist for Me Not Me, which was again recorded with bassist Reed Mathis (Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey) and drummers Matt Chamberlain (Critters Buggin) and Andrew Barr. Benevento again focuses on his acoustic piano, although the album is full of organs and effects.

You can also catch a live video of Benevento covering Deerhoof’s “Twin Killers” below; a studio version is included on Me Not Me.

Lastly, Benevento’s keyboard-driven Led Zeppelin cover band, Bustle in Your Hedgerow, is playing JamCruise 7 on January 4.

1. Golden (My Morning Jacket)
2. Now They’re Writing Music (Marco Benevento)
3. Seems So Long Ago Nancy (Leonard Cohen)
4. Mephisto (Marco Benevento)
5. Twin Killers (Deerhoof)
6. Call Home (Marco Benevento)
7. Heartbeats (The Knife)
8. Sing It Again (Beck)
9. Friends (Led Zeppelin)
10. Run Of The Mill (George Harrison)

Marco Benevento: “Twin Killers”

Marco Benevento:

3 thoughts on “Marco Benevento’s New Album Covers Leonard Cohen, Led Zeppelin, Deerhoof”

Leave a Comment